CCJ to get new president at CARICOM Conference opening

MyVueNews Staff-writer

Basseterre, St. Kitts, 4th July, 2018 ( – St. Kitts & Nevis’ Prime Minister Dr. Timothy Harris is leading a delegation to the 39th Regular Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), which opens today, 4th July, at the Montego Bay Convention Centre, Jamaica.

The Conference will welcome the region’s newest leader, Prime Minister Mia Mottley of Barbados.

During the Conference, the CARICOM Heads of Government will discuss several critical matters including, Crime and Security in the region, the CARICOM Single Market and Economy, and global developments that impact on the region’s growth prospects.

Prior to the opening of the Conference, another ceremony will take place. In the mid-afternoon ceremony, the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) will have its newest president in Andrian Saunders, who will be sworn in as the new CCJ president.

Addressing that ceremony will be Sir Dennis Byron, the recently retired president of the CCJ.

Several CARICOM prime ministers will also address the ceremony, including Prime Minister Dean Barrow of Belize, CARICOM Chairman Prime Minister Andrew Holness of Jamaica, as well as Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves of St. Vincent & the Grenadines.

Photo: Justice Andrian Saunders

Tags: ,