Mavi replaces Chawla as KKR bowl, three changes for Royals


Dinesh Karthik, the Kolkata Knight Riders captain, has chosen to bowl in his team’s penultimate league match against Rajasthan Royals. Both teams are locked on 12 points from 12 games with the winner set to move to third place on the league table without yet confirming a playoff spot.

KKR made one change, Piyush Chawla missing out with a side strain and Shivam Mavi returning to the side. Mavi’s inclusion means they now have three fast bowlers and only two spinners in Sunil Narine and Kuldeep Yadav.

Royals made three changes to the side that beat Mumbai Indians on Sunday – their third win in a row – bringing in Rahul Tripathi, Ish Sodhi and Anureet Singh for D’Arcy Short, Shreyas Gopal and Dhawal Kulkarni, all like-for-like changes.

Kolkata Knight Riders: 1 Chris Lynn, 2 Sunil Narine, 3 Robin Uthappa, 4 Nitish Rana, 5 Dinesh Karthik (capt & wk), 6 Andre Russell, 7 Shubman Gill, 8 Javon Searles, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Prasidh Krishna, 11 Shivam Mavi

Rajasthan Royals: 1 Jos Buttler (wk), 2 Ajinkya Rahane (capt), 3 Sanju Samson, 4 Ben Stokes, 5 Rahul Tripathi, 6 Stuart Binny, 7 Jofra Archer, 8 K Gowtham, 9 Ish Sodhi, 10 Jaydev Unadkat, 11 Anureet Singh