UWI to recognize three local politicians

MyVueNews Staff-writer

Basseterre, St. Kitts, 9th October, 2018, (MyVueNews.com) – As part of its 70th Anniversary, the University of the West Indies, UWI, is to honour a number of outstanding Caribbean citizens who have excelled in their fields of endeavor.

With the important milestone of 70 years being achieved, the university has decided to honour some of its partners, as well as alumni, private sector entities, faculty members and students.

Among the list of awardees are three prominent politicians from St. Kitts and Nevis.

These include the current Prime Minister, Dr. Timothy Harris and the man he replaced in 2015,former Prime Minister, Dr. Denzil Douglas.

The list also names the former Nevisian Premier, Vance Amory as another recipient of the anniversary accolades.

Former Prime Minister, Dr. Denzil Douglas

Douglas, who is currently the leader of the opposition St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party, served his country as Prime Minister for 19 years, from 1995-2015, just a few months short of two decades.

Prime Minister Timothy Harris meanwhile, who is also the leader of his People’s Labour Party,succeeded Douglas in February 2015, to lead a three party coalition that also includes the People’s Action Movement, PAM, and the Concerned Citizens Movement, CCM.

Both Douglas and Harris are a former students at the Barbados based Cave Hill Campus. Douglas also attended the Mona Campus in Jamaica, where he completed his medical studies in 1984.

Prime Minister Harris is one of the university’s bright stars having graduated in 1988 with First Class Honours in Accounting, which was an accomplishment that not many had managed in previous years.

He also copped the Victor Cooke Prize then for Best Accounting Student. That prowess did not end because four years later in 1992 he also achieved top honours at the Trinidad based St. Augustine Campus with a Master’s Degree in Management Studies,passing with a Distinction.

Former Premier of Nevis, Vance Amory

Amory meanwhile graduated from UWI in 1973 with a Bachelor’s Degree.

The three St. Kitts& Nevis politicians are amongst 70 who are being recognized this week during a ceremony to be held at the Cave Hill campus in Barbados.