Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/customer/www/ on line 309

Another Woeful Display – Indians Put Windies In A Spin

Bravo led a fight back with a top score of 59 from 77 deliveries, however, Ravindra Jadeja and Suresh Raina shared six wickets as West Indies were bowled out for 211.

Rohit Sharma (72) and Virat Kohli (86) then coasted to easy half centuries as the visitors reached 212 for four to take a one-nil lead in the three-match series.

The West Indies innings began in drama when Chris Gayle was run out for zero off the second ball of the match.

Gayle dabbed the delivery towards the non-striker and called straightaway for a risky single but Bhuvneshwar Kumar sprinted to his right and threw down the stumps at the non-striker’s end, catching Gayle short.

As Gayle tried to make his ground, he took a tumble and injured his hamstring that is likely to keep him out for up to four weeks.

The foundation to West Indies total was constructed on two half-century partnerships as they attempted to recover from the loss of Gayle in the first over

The first was a 65-run second wicket stand between opener Johnson Charles and Marlon Samuels, most of those runs coming in the first 10 overs before spin was introduced.

Charles smashed seven fours and a six in a knock of 42 before he tried to whip a delivery to the leg side and got a leading edge towards Ravindra Jadeja, who dived full length to his left to pull off a one-handed blinder.

A few balls later, Marlon Samuels was beaten by a delivery from Suresh Raina which kept low and hit the base of his middle stump after he had scored 24 which included two fours and a six.

Bravo continued to spearhead the Windies counter attack, manoeuvering the strike around in company of Lendl Simmons – both adding 65 for the fourth wicket – while being severe on anything that was pitched up.

Twice, Bravo hit flighted deliveries from Jadeja into the stands but, like Samuels, was dismissed by one that stayed low from Mohammed Shami during the Powerplay.

His dismissal after a responsible knock highlighted by four fours and two sixes, signalled the end of resistance from West Indies.

Simmons was bowled by Raina for 29 as the last seven Wickets tumbled for the addition of 69 runs.


West Indies

C. Gayle run out (Kumar) 0J. Charles c & b Jadeja 42M. Samuels b Raina 24D.M. Bravo b Mohammed Shami59L. Simmons lbw b Raina 29N. Deonarine b Raina4D.J. Bravost Dhoni b Jadeja24D. Sammy c Kumar b Jadeja5J. Holder not out 16S. Narine c & b Ashwin 0R. Rampaul c Dhawan b Ashwin 1Extras (lb 1, w 6) 7Total (all out; 48.5 overs) 211

Fall of wickets 1-0 (Gayle), 2-65 (Charles), 3-77 (Samuels), 4-142 (Simmons), 5-152 (Deonarine), 6-183 (DM Bravo), 7-187 (DJ Bravo), 8-204 (Sammy), 9-206 (Narine), 10-211 (Rampaul)

Bowling: Kumar 5-0-26-0,Unadkat 6-0-39-0, Shami 6-0-28-1, Jadeja 10-0-37-3, Raina 10-1-34-3, Ashwin 9.5-0-42-2, Sharma 2-0-4-0.


R. Sharma c Simmons b Rampaul 72S. Dhawan c Charles b Holder 5V. Kohli c Narine b Holder 86Y. Singh not out 16S. Raina c Holder b Narine0M.S. Dhoni not out 13Extras (b 5, w 15) 20Total (4 wickets; 35.2 overs) 212

Did not bat RA Jadeja, R Ashwin, B Kumar, Mohammed Shami, JD Unadkat

Fall of wickets 1-17 (Dhawan), 2-150 (Sharma), 3-192 (Kohli), 4-194 (Raina)

Bowling: Rampaul 8-0-39-1, Holder 8-0-48-2, Sammy 2-0-14-0, Narine 10-1-57-1, Deonarine 2-0-15-0, Simmons 3-0-14-0,Bravo 2.2,0-20-0

Result: India won by six wickets

Series: India lead the 3-match series 1-0

Player of the match V Kohli (India)

Umpires: VA Kulkarni and RJ Tucker (Australia)

TV umpire: AK Chaudhary

Match referee: DC Boon (Australia)

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!