Antigua & Barbuda Win 2011 NAGICO Leeward Islands Cup

 The twin-island state on Sunday, (9th October, 2011), placed its stamp of authority on the sport when they easily defeated Nevis to win the 2011 NAGICO Leeward Islands 50 Overs Competition staged at the Warner Park Stadium in Basseterre.

This victory takes their tally to eight (8) championship titles, in the nine years since the tournament has been held. Only St. Kitts, in 2007, has had the distinction to be the other winner of the championship.

After winning the toss, Antigua and Barbuda decided to bat, perhaps learning well that the teams batting first in the recent matches have gone on to secure victory.

They took 46.4 overs to amass a total of 210 before they were all out, with Austin Richards, the Antiguan captain, top scoring with 69, that included 12 fours from 78 balls.

He had good support from Mali Richards with 38 and Hayden Walsh Jr on 32.

The pick of the Nevis bowling was Jason Campbell with figures of 11.4 overs, 4 maidens, 20 runs and 3 wickets; Akito Willett 2 wickets for 43 while his brother Tonito Willett bagged 2 wickets for 48 runs.

Nevis in reply could only muster 138 before they were all out off 35.3 overs, with Jason Campbell 26 (18 b: 2×4: 2×6), Andre Browne 25 Javia Liburd 23.

Bowling for Antigua & Barbuda, Hayden Walsh Jr 2 – 1 – 2 – 2, Justin Athanaze 9 – 0 – 36 – 2, Larry Joseph 9.3 – 2 – 46 – 2, Gavin Tonge 8 – 2 – 23 – 1.

Antigua and Barbuda won the match and the Finals by 72 runs.

Austin Richards Jr of Antigua & Barbuda was named Man of the Match. He also won the awards for Player of the Semi-finals & finals.

Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!