Antigua-Barbuda endorses OECS economic union treaty

Antigua and Barbuda, like other OECS member states, signed the Revised Treaty of Basseterre on June 18, 2010 in St Lucia.

According to an OECS press release, prior to signing the instrument of ratification at his office, Spencer expressed his nation’s commitment to deeper regional integration.

“By being the first member state to ratify the Revised Treaty of Basseterre establishing OECS economic union, Antigua and Barbuda wishes to signal its profound commitment to the implementation process,” he said.

In order for the Revised Treaty to enter into force, at least four independent OECS member states must ratify the treaty.

Ratification is the process by which a member state formally indicates that it is willing to be bound by an international agreement and will abide by its provisions.


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!