Best West Indies Eleven of All Time


No player on the current West Indies team was able to find a place in the squad but five of those who were part of the hugely successful teams of the 1980s were named among the best. These include fast bowlers Malcolm Marshall, Curly Ambrose and Michael Holding. Batsmen Viv Richards and Gordon Greenidge were also chosen.

Brian Lara who gained his West Indies pick in the 1990s received the selectors nod for a middle order position. Others named to the team were Conrad Hunte, George Headley, Jackie Hendricks, Gary Sobers and Lance Gibbs.

The panel of selectors was made up of journalists Fazeer Mohammed, Tony Becca, and garth Wattley, cricket historian, Hilary Beckles, former test player, Jimmy Adams, radio commentator, Joseph “Reds” Perreira, writers, Ian McDonald and Frank Birbalsingh, former West Indies team Media manager, Imran Khan, an sports psychologist Rudi Webster.

From the ten man panel, only a few players received unanimous votes. Votes for the fast bowlers varied with Ambrose and Holding, (six votes), Marshall, (nine votes). The lone spinner, Lance Gibbs received 9 votes.

Three players received unanimous votes of ten. These were Gary Sobers, the best all rounder of all time, Viv Richards, the master blaster and George Headley.

Grodon Greenidge picked up 9 votes while Lara managed 6 votes.

No place in the All Time XI was found for other West Indian greats like Andy Roberts, Desmond Haynes, Lawrence Rowe, Alvin Kallicharan, Alf Valentine, Clyde Walcott, Frank Worrell, Everton Weekes, Wes Hall, Charlie Griffith, Joel Garner, Courtney Walsh, Clive Lloyd and Rohan Kanhai.

  No captain was selected to lead the All Time Test XI.

Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!