Bumrah, Dhoni rested as Ireland opt to bowl


Punjab and Sunrisers Hyderabad quick Siddarth Kaul received his maiden India cap ahead, as the visitors made four changes to the side that won the first T20I between the two teams. Ireland, trailing 1-0 following a 76-run defeat on Wednesday, chose to bowl on a day when the Malahide surface displayed a uniform shade of green.

Ireland captain Gary Wilson announced that top-order batsman William Porterfield returned in the place of wicketkeeper Stuart Poynter. That means Wilson will also take the wicketkeeping gloves.

For India, there were wholesale changes in the pace bowling department. Virat Kohli said that Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar were rested to make way for Umesh Yadav and Kaul. Shikhar Dhawan, who made a half-century on Wednesday, was also rested alongside MS Dhoni. KL Rahul and Dinesh Karthik took their place in the side. That means all 15 members of the India squad – except for the injured Washington Sundar – got a game in Dublin.

Ireland 1 Paul Stirling, 2 William Porterfield, 3 James Shannon 4 Andy Balbirnie, 5 Simi Singh, 6 Gary Wilson (capt & wk), 7 Kevin O’Brien, 8 Stuart Thompson, 9 George Dockrell, 10 Boyd Rankin, 11 Peter Chase

India 1 KL Rahul, 2 Rohit Sharma, 3 Virat Kohli (capt), 4 Suresh Raina, 5 Dinesh Karthik (wk), 6 Manish Pandey, 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Umesh Yadav, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Yuzvendra Chahal, 11 Siddarth Kaul

error: Content is protected !!