Bureau of Standards Jamaica to improve packaging centre and service to private sector through EU-CSME Standby Facility

The grant will facilitate the implementation of the “Capacity Building for Market Access” project under which the BSJ will upgrade its Packaging Centre, and create websites to improve the delivery of business support services by the BSJ to its stakeholders.

“The management of the CSME Standby Facility and the signing of this grant agreement are indicative of the CDB’s commitment to leveraging resources and strategic multilateral partnerships to advance regional integration and demonstrate its benefits at the national level,” said Edward Greene, Division Chief of the Technical Cooperation Division at the CDB.

According to Ms. Yvonne Hall, Executive Director of the BSJ, the upgrade to the BSJ Packaging Centre will enable the BSJ to test packaging materials used in industry, verify packaging quality, and regulate and provide technical advisory services on packaging standards.

“The modernization of the Packaging Centre will enable the BSJ to provide quality testing and research services to meet the needs of its clients, and fulfil regulatory and international requirements,” said Ms. Hall. “Once completed, the project will enable the BSJ to provide improved market access for Jamaican packaged goods. The BSJ will also be able to build on the recent accreditation of one of the critical food tests (can seam analysis) conducted by the Packaging Centre as we seek to enhance consumer confidence in the quality and safety of packaged goods.”

As a result of the project, the BSJ will be better able to impart critical information on standards, and to ensure that goods imported and exported meet international standards. The organisation will also be able to better defend local manufacturers against unfair trading practices and focus on marketing its packaging services not only within Jamaica, but to the wider CARICOM region as well.

In discussing the development of the websites being developed under the project, Ms. Hall said that, “The websites form part of an initiative to upgrade the organization’s information and communication infrastructure to improve the timeliness in the dissemination of information, and the processing of business transactions. They will significantly impact our promotional, marketing and educational efforts in the drive to foster a standards-led and market-driven economy.”

About the Caribbean Development Bank

The Caribbean Development Bank is a regional financial institution established 1970 for the purpose of contributing to the harmonious economic growth and development of member countries. The Bank’s founding president was noted economist and Nobel Laureate Sir Arthur Lewis. There are nineteen regional borrowing member countries – including Guyana and Suriname; three regional non-borrowing member countries – Mexico, Venezuela and Colombia.  Members outside of the Region are Canada, China, Germany, Italy, Mexico, UK and Venezuela. As of December 31, 2014, CDB had total assets of USD2.61bn (This includes USD1.38Bn of ordinary Capital resources and USD1.23Bn of Special Funds Resources.)  CDB has an “Aa1” with stable outlook rating with Moody’s Rating Agency and an “AA/A-1+” with stable outlook rating with Standard and Poor’s Rating Agency. In 2014 the Bank approved loans and grants of USD269.5 Mn.


The European Union is made up of 27 Member States who have decided to gradually link together their know-how, resources and destinies. Together, during a period of enlargement of 50 years, they have built a zone of stability, democracy and sustainable development whilst maintaining cultural diversity, tolerance and individual freedoms. The European Union is committed to sharing its achievements and its values with countries and peoples beyond its borders.


CARIFORUM comprises the Caribbean States that are signatories of the Georgetown Agreement and shall include any other ACP Caribbean State accepted as a member by the Forum. The Caribbean States that are signatories of the Georgetown Agreement are Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago.



Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!