CEMSS stamps authority on Inter-School

Glen Bart, MyVueNews.com

Basseterre, St. Kitts, 26th March, 2018 (MyVueNews.com) – The Charles E. Mills Secondary School (CEMSS) is legendary in the TDC Inter-School Championships having emerged victorious on the final day at the Kim Collins Athletics Stadium on 25th March, 2018.

It is their fifth win in the history of the Inter-School Championships, and expectedly, they were not short on celebrations.

Topping the table with 62 points, CEMSS racked up 27 gold medals, 16 silver and 19 bronze over the three-day event.

The Washington Archibald High School placed second with 50 points that included 16 gold medals, 12 silver and 22 bronze.

With 41 points, the Charlestown Secondary School took third position with 41 points, collecting 15 gold medals, 15 silver and 11 bronze in the athletics meet.

Also in double figures on points were Basseterre High School, 37 points, Immaculate Conception Catholic School, 13 points and Verchilds High School with 23 points.

The CEMSS coach thought they might have captured 30 gold medals, but it was not to be.

“It is not really a secret that we are getting good athletes from the feeder schools, and they work hard in training. Our athletes are highly motivated and want to do well,” the coach said.

Victrix ludorum of the 2018 Inter-School Championships is Ayasmir Dolphin of the Immaculate Conception Catholic School, with 48 points. In runner-up position is Trishanic Warner with 39 points.

Victor Ludorum of the 2018 Inter-School Championships is Ajani Mills of the Verchilds High School with 42 points, and his runner-up is Sharim Hamilton with 35 points.

In the male Under-20 division, Demitri Browne of the CEMSS topped the table with 23 points, followed Leroy Chapman, Charlestown Secondary School, with 20 points; Anthony Seegobin, BHS, and Marcus Duberry of the CFBC, tied in third place with 18 points each.

For the female Under-20 division, Cileen Hendrickson of the CSS placed first with 30 points followed by Tiana Nisbett, CFBC, with 20 points, and Tangela Dunrod, also of CFBC with 16 points.

In the male Under-18 division, Sharim Hamilton of CEMSS placed first with 35 points. In second position is Junior Rouse of the ICCS with 30 points, and jointly in third position with 24 points each are Philson Wattley, VHS, and Vquan Thomas of CEMSS.

For the female Under-18 division, Jarencia Jeffers of the CEMSS placed first with 31 points. Second was Rosalyn Daniel, CEMSS, 22 points and in third place, Nickeisha Howe, CEMSS, with 20 points.

In the male Under-16 division, Ajani Mills, VHS, topped the table with 42 points. In second position, K’Anthony Benjamin, CEMSS, earned 28 points, and jointly in third position with 23 points each were Que’leel Roberts, GSS, Lalique Pemberton, WAHS, and Devrelle Abbott of WAHS.

For the female Under-16 division, Trishannie Warner, CEMSS, topped the table with 39 points, and in a three-way tie for second place, 36 points each, were Keneah Romney, CEMSS, Cadence Stanley, WAHS, and Jashelle Weeks of CSS.

In the male Under-14 division, Malique Williams of BHS took first place with 30 points. Second was Niran Warde of the CSS with 27 points, and tied in third place with 26 points each were Azaryo Osborne, BHS, and Ashaun Wilkinson of WAHS.

For the female Under-14 division, Ayazmia Dolphin, ICCS, took first place with 48 points, followed by T’Anna Liburd, CSS, with 30 points and Kyrecia Boynes, BHS, with 26 points.

Speaking of the first two major athletics events so far for 2018, Kilony Johnson, the PRO of the St. Kitts and Nevis Amateur Athletics Association (SKNAAA) was quite pleased with the outcome.

Johnson said, “It was a very successful weekend for the SKNAAA, and these last two weeks, including the Primary School Championships and CARIFTA Trials, were the first two major events that this new SKNAAA Executive hosted. By all accounts, we would say it was a very successful two weekends of track and field excitement here in St. Kitts and Nevis.”



error: Content is protected !!