Development Bank named ‘Home of Masters Cricket’ by the victorious Nevis team 

By peter Ngunjiri:

Charlestown, Nevis*, *June 4, 2018 (DBSKN)* — The now hugely popular Leeward Islands Masters Cricket Tournament was held in Nevis last month, and the home team Nevis Masters reclaimed the championship trophy which they lost to St. Croix in 2016 and missed it last year when the tournament was held in St. Thomas.

“Leeward Islands Masters Cricket Tournament 2018 has just been concluded with Nevis emerging champions,” observed President of the Nevis Masters Cricket Association, Mr Franklyn ‘Kut’ Daniel, on Thursday May 28. “Not only we were champions but we were a pretty good host, echoed by all the teams that were here.”

Mr Daniel made the comments when he presented the two trophies they won in the 2018 Leeward Islands Masters Cricket Tournament, the revolving championship trophy and the one they will keep permanently, to Ms Hyacinth Pemberton, Manager of the Nevis branch of Development Bank of St. Kitts and Nevis at her Stoney Grove office in Charlestown.

“Now that we have the trophies we are placing them at the Development Bank of St. Kitts and Nevis’ office, and the reason being because Development Bank has been on board with us for quite some years,” said Mr Daniel. “We feel like they (Development Bank) have earned themselves the ‘Home of Masters’.”

According to Mr Daniel, the Development Bank of St. Kitts and Nevis has been the premium sponsor of the Nevis Masters team for the past five years and it was in order that the trophies are kept at the bank, as he put it, “so that is basically what you will be seeing when you walk into the Development Bank in Nevis – you would see the Masters championship trophy displayed right there.”

Mr Daniel, who was accompanied by the team’s Manager Mr Oscar ‘Astro’Browne, presented a trophy of appreciation from the Nevis Masters Cricket Association to the Development Bank of St. Kitts and Nevis for its continued partnership. The trophy was accepted by Ms Hyacinth Pemberton on behalf of the financial institution.

“On behalf of the Board of Directors, the management, and staff of the Development Bank of St. Kitts and Nevis, I accept these trophies for safe keeping with humility and pride,” said Ms Pemberton. “As a sponsor of the Nevis Masters Cricket team, we are not just happy that the team won, but also for the fact that you have placed your trust on the bank to be the home of these precious trophies. We promise to take care of them and to ensure that when our customers walk into the bank they are able to see them. You have done Nevis proud.”

Ms Pemberton further noted: “As a corporate citizen, the Development Bank of St. Kitts and Nevis recognises the role cricket plays in the overall social and economic development of our twin-island Federation. This is a game that gives both the young and the old a chance to excel. We are pleased to note that Mr Derrick Parry and Mr Carl Tuckett who in their youthful days played for the great West Indies team are still active, as Masters Cricket has occupied them.”

Manager of the winning team, Mr Oscar ‘Astro’ Browne, also took time tothank the Development Bank of St. Kitts and Nevis for its continued sponsorship to the team. He said: “I think we have not only played proper cricket – our deportment in general has been really good and a positive reflection of the bank as well.”

The Leeward Islands Masters Cricket Tournament was first played in 2002 when two teams, Antigua and Barbuda, and Anguilla shared the top honours. Since then, with the exception of 2005 and 2006 when no records are available, both Antigua and Barbuda, and Nevis would have won five times each.

This year the tournament took place in Nevis, with a full slate of eight teams taking part. Of those teams, St. Maarten would have won the trophy in 2004, Anguilla in 2016, St. Croix in 2016, and St. Thomas in 2017. Antigua and Barbuda won in 2003, 2007, 2008, 2011 and 2012, while, Nevis won the trophy in 2009, 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2018. The remaining two teams, St. Kitts and the British Virgin Islands, are yet to win the trophy.

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!