Douglas, Harris, Condor and Carty Re-elected Unopposed at St. Kitts Nevis Labour Party 79th Annual Convention

The convention – which was attended by members and friends of the party – was held at the St. Kitts Marriott Ball Room, the public session being held in the morning and the business session being held in the afternoon. The first portion of the event punctuated with speeches by Guest Speaker, Prime Minister of Dominica Roosevelt Skerritt, Party Leader Denzil L. Douglas and Party Chairman Timothy Harris with entertaining presentations being given by Desi and Khyla Browne, Sweet Temptation, Rolhensha ‘Rollie’ Henry and Nakita James.

Following a scrumptious lunch, the members of the party got down to business, casting votes to elect the leadership of the party and according to a press release issued by the Communications Unit of the Office of the Prime Minister (CUOPM), Prime Minister Douglas was re-elected “unopposed” as the St. Kitts Nevis Labour Party’s National Political Leader for the 23rd consecutive year.

Also re-elected “unopposed” were Sam T. Condor Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, National Security, Labour and Social Security, Timothy Harris Senior Minister with responsibility for Agriculture, International Trade, Industry, Consumer Affairs, Fisheries and Constituency Empowerment and Senator Nigel Carty Minister of Education and Information in respective positions of Deputy National Leader, Chairman and Vice Chairman of the executive.

The press release further indicated that Mrs. Diana Williams-Humphries, defeating Mr. Joseph O’Flaherty 143 votes to 135, was elected National Secretary while the National Assistant Secretary was named as Ms. Ghislyn Williams, who beat Mr. Joseph O’Flaherty 156 to 108.

The SKNLP’s Constituency No. 5 representative, Dr. Norgen Wilson gained 143 more votes than Alexis Nisbett and was named the party’s National Treasurer. He amassed a total of 215 votes.

Also elected to serve on the Executive are Thamesha Fyfield (221 votes); Joan Phillip (198 votes) and Hazel Ross-Robinson (186 votes). Other contenders were Eugenie Condor (120 votes) and Sonia Henry (120 votes).

Other members of the National Executive representing the constituencies in St. Kitts are Sharylle Richardson (Constituency #1); Mr. Rudolph Morton (Constituency #2);  Mr. Cuthbert Caines (Constituency # 4); Mr. George Dixon (Constituency #5) and Miss Ruby Taylor (Constituency # 6). Constituencies #3, 7 and 8, Labour Women and Young Labour are to name their representatives shortly.


(Parts of this article were incorporated from a CUOPM press release)

Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!