Fifa World Cup 2014: England draw pot could change

Beforehand, one of those teams will be drawn into Pot 2, and will face one of the four South American seeds.

No more than two European teams, or one from South America, can be drawn in the same group for next year’s competition.

If England are moved to Pot 2, which contains seven African and South American teams, they would be guaranteed to face either Brazil, Argentina, Colombia or Uruguay, who will form a temporary “Pot X”.


The three South American teams in “Pot X” not drawn against the European team in Pot 2 will go back into the main draw.

Should England remain in Pot 4, they could face any of the top eight seeds from Pot 1.

As hosts, Brazil will be automatically placed into Group A and the rest of the teams in each pot will be drawn into one of the eight four-team groups, bearing in mind the geographic stipulations.

“It’s not easy to understand it the first time, I agree with you,” said Fifa general secretary Jerome Valcke at a news conference in Costa do Sauipe where Friday’s draw will take place.

“It took me some time to be sure I had the right explanation.”

Hodgson has said that England’s base is more important than who they will face in the World Cup.

Pot 1 (top eight seeds): Brazil, Spain, Argentina, Belgium, Colombia, Germany, Switzerland, Uruguay

Pot 2: Ivory Coast, Ghana, Algeria, Nigeria, Cameroon, Chile, Ecuador

Pot 3: Japan, Iran, South Korea, Australia, United States, Mexico, Costa Rica, Honduras

Pot 4: Bosnia-Hercegovina, Croatia, England, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Russia, France

Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!