Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/customer/www/ on line 309

Freedom of movement begins in OECS economic union

Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, St Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia and St Vincent and the Grenadines agreed that, from that date, they would permit OECS citizens to enter their territories and remain for an indefinite period in order to work, establish businesses, provide services or reside. 

Free movement of OECS citizens is one of the fundamental aspects of the Revised Treaty of Basseterre establishing the OECS Economic Union, which entered into force on January 21, 2011. On that date the OECS Authority of Heads of Government agreed that August 1, 2011 would be the implementation date for the regime for the complete free movement of citizens of participating member states. 

In order to facilitate the free movement of citizens, the following administrative arrangements and procedures are in effect in member states:

OECS citizens traveling within the economic union should enter the special immigration lines designated for CARICOM nationals.

OECS citizens traveling within the union must produce the following documents to the immigration officials at the point of entry: 

1. A valid photo identification card that bears the nationality of the holder, for example, a passport, driver’s license, voter’s registration card or a national ID card.

2. A completed E/D form. 

The immigration official shall grant entry for an indefinite period, save and except in those circumstances where the citizen poses a security risk or there exists some other legal basis for prohibiting entry to the citizen.


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!