Governor General appoints members of Integrity Commission

MyVueNews Staff-writer

Basseterre, St. Kitts, 28th August, 2018 ( – The Governor General of St. Kitts and Nevis, Sir Tapley Seaton, has appointed and revealed the three-member Integrity Commission.

In a brief ceremony on Monday, 27th August, 2018, the Governor General appointed Attorney at Law Damian Kelsick as chairman of the Commission. He also appointed as member certified Accountant Franklin Maitland, the nominee of the Team Unity Government, as well as certified Accountant Carol Boddie, the nominee of the Leader of the Parliamentary Opposition.

The Commission will function under the Integrity in Public Life Act, passed in 2013, but was not operationalised. The Act makes provision for a Code of Conduct, decorations of interests for pubic officials, as well as identifying penalties for abuse of office, misconduct and neglect of duty, among others. The Act also provides for the establishment of the Commission, its powers and functions.

Addressing the members of the Commission, Governor General Sir Tapley said, “I expect everybody to work together. This is not a political affair, notwithstanding the fact that the Act prescribes nominations by certain office holders, but it is intended to be a national entity and undertaking. All of these persons [Commission members] bring to these positions significant qualifications, and we repose tremendous confidence in them to be able to discharge their functions.”

Commenting at the occasion, Prime Minister Dr. Timothy Harris said, “The matter of Integrity in Public Life is not new to the region, and indeed in some respects it has not been new in St. Kitts and Nevis. It has been part of the political vocabulary for a very long time and indeed in 2013 an attempt was made to have this come into law. The Bill was passed but it lay comatose for a while. I am pleased that that my administration has determined to move forward with the Integrity in Public Life, and we have done so while appreciating that the Bill, lengthy and detailed as it is, is not a perfect Bill.”

The Commission members took the Oath of Office and the Oath of Secrecy before embarking on their full duties.

Photo (L-R): Franklin Maitland, member of Integrity Commission; Senior Minister Vance Amory; Damian Kelsick, chairman of Integrity Commission; Governor General Sir Tapley Seaton; Prime Minister Dr. Timothy Harris; Carol Boddie, member of Integrity Commission. (Photo courtesy PM Press Assistant)

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!