ICC Charges Ricky Ponting for Damaging Television

Ponting destructive reaction came about after he was run out for 28 runs as Australia began the World Cup with a 91-run win in Ahmedabad.

According to a BBC Sports report, this charge can result in Ponting loseing 50% of his match fee.

ICC match referee Roshan Mahanama said: “Ricky knows that his action was in breach of the code, involving a brief moment of frustration.

“That said, it was clear that the damage he caused was purely accidental and without malice, he apologised shortly after the incident at the ground and immediately agreed to pay for the damage.”

Officials at the World Cup venue in Gujarat accused Ponting of causing the damage after the Tasmanian was run out at the non-striker’s end by a direct throw from Chris Mpofu as he attempted a second run.

On his way back to the pavilion, Ponting appeared to talk angrily to himself having failed to push on to a sizeable score in his first competitive innings since breaking a finger in the fourth Ashes Test against England in December.

The report relating to the alleged incident was sent to the BCCI by the Gujarat Cricket Association, which oversees the sport in Ahmedabad.

“When Ponting was run out, he was perhaps frustrated. He threw his gloves straight at the TV,” Gujarat Cricket Association secretary Rajesh Patel said.

“It was an LCD TV, which was properly damaged. We could not view anything so I had to replace it immediately. An Australian team captain should not behave in this manner,” Patel further added.

Ponting is attempting to become the first skipper to achieve the feat of winning three World Cup titles in a row.



Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!