Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/customer/www/ on line 309

Move to Select Members for OECS Parliament

Prime Minister Douglas recommended a joint meeting to update members of the Parliamentary Opposition on matters to do with the OECS Parliamentary Assembly and the role of the Opposition in that regard.

The Revised Treaty of Basseterre which came into effect in January 2011 makes provision for the establishment of the five main institutions of the OECS Economic Union. One such institution is the OECS Parliamentary Assembly.

This body is to be comprised of five elected members from the Parliament of each full OECS member state, three members originating from the government side, including the Head of Government, and two such members originating from the opposition, including the Leader of the Opposition.

The Revised Treaty also makes provision for the election of a Speaker who is to satisfy qualifications similar to those for a Speaker of National Assemblies or parliaments.








Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!