Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/customer/www/ on line 309

New Association Established for Football Coaches

On Sunday 2nd December, 2012, a group of football coaches assembled at Football House to establish, what is to be called the St Kitts-Nevis Football Coaches Association.

A key part of the agenda was the election of the first executive committee, which is headed by  Mr Austin ‘Dico’ Huggins, as president, along with seven (7) other persons to serve in various offices. Two positions were left unfilled to accommodate the election of two coaches from Nevis.

The afternoon began with a formal opening ceremony attended by Minister of Youth and Sport, Mr. Glen Phillip; Mr Glen Jeffers, General Secretary of the St Kitts-Nevis National Olympic Committee; Mr Alister Edwards, 2nd Vice President, Mr Stanley Jacobs, General Secretary and Mr Lennie Lake, Technical Director all of the St Kitts-Nevis Football Association; Mr Val Henry, Managing Director of VhCommunications Ltd and chaired by Mr Vernon Springer, Coach of the Department of Sports and WINN FM Sportscaster.

In his remarks, the Minister lauded the pioneering efforts and pledged the support of The Government and, in particular, his ministry for the advancement of the goals of the new organization.

Following the formal ceremony, the coaches were treated to four inspiring and informative presentations  by Glen Jeffers on “The Importance of a Coaches Association”, Val Henry on “Communications”, Dr Patrick Martin on “Leadership”, and Mr Lennie Lake on “Team Management”.  

Bouyed and inspired by the guest presenters, the coaches moved quickly to elect the inaugural executive committee of the newly formed St Kitts-Nevis Football Coaches Association, whose primary objective is to promote the development of football coaches in St Kitts-Nevis. The election of Mr Austin ‘Dico’ Huggins to the presidency augurs well as he brings to this office his combined experiences as a former national football player and national coach, and intimate knowledge of football across the Federation.

President Huggins leads a team that includes:

                   Kevin Hope                        1st Vice President

                   John Bergan                      2nd Vice President

                   Franklin Maitland                General Secretary

                   Tyronne O’Loughin              Treasurer

                   Sherlene Browne                Director

                   Derrick Mills                      Director

                   Alexis Joseph                     Director


Two additional positions will be filled shortly by election of coaches to represent Nevis. Mr Lennie Lake will serve as ex officio member on the executive Committee.

In his brief acceptance remarks, President Huggins thanked all for the firm expression of confidence in him, and extended an invitation to other coaches not present to embrace the association and strive to create an entity of which this Federation can truly be proud.


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!