New CARICOM Secretary General to take Office on 15th August

The new CARICOM Secretary General, Ambassador Irwin LaRocque of Dominica will assume duties on Monday 15th August, 2011.

This is according to the Chairman of CARICOM, St. Kitts & Nevis Prime Minister, Dr. Denzil Douglas, following discussions via video conference with Acting Secretary General Lolita Applewhaite.

LaRocque becomes the second national of the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States, OECS, to assume the high office of Secretary General of CARICOM, which is a symbol of regional integration.

He was confirmed in the position by the CARICOM Heads back on 21st July, 2011, to replace Sir Edwin Carrington of Trinidad & Tobago, who served in that capacity for almost 20 years.

While making the announcement, Prime Minister Douglas, stated, “Ambassador LaRocque assumes office as the Community’s seventh Secretary-General, with the full confidence and support of the Conference of Heads of Government and the best wishes of the entire Community.”


LaRocque becomes the seventh person to have held this position. Other CARICOM bosses have been William Demas (Trinidad and Tobago) 1973 – 1974; Alister McIntyre (Grenada) 1974 – 1977; 
Dr Kurleigh King (Barbados) 1979 – 1983; Roderick Rainford (Jamaica) 1983 – 1992; Edwin W. Carrington (Trinidad and Tobago) 1992-2010.



Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!