Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/customer/www/ on line 309

New CCJ President Sir Dennis Byron to be Sworn in Next Month

That’s according to a release from the Public Education & Communication Unit of the Caribbean Court of Justice, headquartered in Trinidad.

Sir Dennis, who is a former Chief Justice of the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States, OECS, will take the oath of office as President of the CCJ, in his home country, before Sir Cuthbert Sebastian, Governor-General of St. Kitts and Nevis, on 1st September, 2011.

He assumes office following his appointment by the Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community, CARICOM, upon the retirement of Mr. Justice Michael de la Bastide TC, former President of the CCJ.

Mr. Justice de la Bastide, TC was formally bid farewell at a full Ceremonial Sitting of the Court on July 15th 2011, after being at the helm of the CCJ since its inception.  He proceeded on pre-retirement leave and retired on August 18, 2011.

The ceremony will be attended by key office holders from the Caribbean region, as well as guests from the International Criminal Tribunals for Rwanda and the United Nations, among others.

Sir Dennis, until recently also served as President of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda.

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!