New EC Eight Dollar Coin

The eight-dollar coin has been released in recognition of the establishment of the OECS Economic Union.

The bank’s release explained that the eight-dollar value of the coin represents the eight member countries of the Economic Union, St. Kitts and Nevis, Antigua & Barbuda, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat and Anguilla.

The coin features the flag of each country on the reverse side and the effigy of
Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Second on the obverse side.

Unlike the $2 circulation coin which the ECCB issued in October 2011, the eight-dollar commemorative coin cannot be used to conduct financial transactions.  Rather, it is a collectors’ item which represents a milestone in the history of the OECS.

The OECS Heads of Government signed the Treaty establishing the OECS Economic Union on 18 June 2010.  The Economic Union creates the platform for deepening the level of integration among the countries and provides a wider scope for the overall development of the region and its citizens.

The coin is made of sterling silver and is available for sale at EC$420. It can be ordered directly from the ECCB or from its Agency Offices in each member territory.  The coin is not available at the commercial banks.

Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!