Newtown United Competing in CFU Club Championship

According to a release from the St. Kitts and Nevis Football Association, the team will be competing in the Caribbean Football Union Club Championship (CFU).

Their first game is scheduled for March 10th at the Warner Park Football Stadium, where they will be hosting the professional team Caledonia AIA of Trinidad & Tobago.

This media house understands that this will be the first time in several years that a club from St Kitts and Nevis will be competing in the new tournament format. The tournament is scheduled to begin on March 9th and continues until the Finals in Trinidad and Tobago on May 29th. The teams will play a home and away game over the period with matches scheduled on selected weekends. Newtown United will travel to Trinidad and Tobago during the weekend of 18-20th March for the away game.

The exact date has not been determined for the match in Trinidad &Tobago. Newtown United last participated in a Club Championship in 1994, the then American Airlines Caribbean Club Championship. The club advanced to the semi finals stage but was eliminated by the US Roberts FC of Martinique.

There are 15 teams competing in the tournament. The teams include Newtown United FC-St Kitts Nevis, Defence Force & Caledonia AIA-Trinidad & Tobago, Western Stars Bermuda, River Plate FC & Puerto Rico Islander-Puerto Rico, Bodden Town FC-Cayman Islands, Bath estate FC-Dominica, Tempete FC-Haiti, Nothern United All stars-St Lucia, S.V. Walking Boyz Co & Intermoengotapoe S.V.–Suriname, MilerockFC & Alpha United-Guyana and Bassa Sports Club-Antigua.

The CFU Club Championship is the annual international football competition held amongst association football clubs from the Caribbean Islands for clubs that are members of the Caribbean Football Union. The Competition was founded in 1997 and has been won by Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago and Puerto Rico.

The Competition is open to the leading domestic club teams in the region. The winners of each national league qualify automatically. The winner of this competition as well as the first and second runners-up will advance to the CONCACAF Champions League in the preliminary round.


Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!