NRP Back in Power in Nevis

This followed local island elections that were held on Monday 11th July, 2011 and contested between the Concerned Citizens Movement, CCM and the incumbent NRP.

It was the most expensive and contentious election that the island has seen, since provisions were made in the 1983 independence constitution, (of St. Kitts & Nevis), for a local island administration to be elected for the 36 square mile territory of 12,000 people.

The NRP was able to hold on to 3 seats, namely its stronghold constituency of St. Thomas, which was won by Premier Joseph Parry, who defeated the CCM’s newcomer, Keith Scarborough; the constituency of St. Pauls, (Charlestown), was captured by incumbent Robelto Hector, over the CCM’s Michael Perkins and the Constituency of St. Johns, where Hensley Daniel edged out Mark Brantley, by 14 votes.

CCM, on the other hand, won 2 of the 5 seats, winning in St. George with Vance Amory defeating Patricia Hanley and in St. James with newcomer, Alexis Jeffers defeating Patrice Nisbett.

The NRP also won the popular vote tallying some 3,757 to the CCM’s 3722, a margin of 35 votes overall.Joseph-Parry_copy_copy

Alexis Jeffers was able to defeat Patrice Nisbett, who currently serves as Attorney General in the Labour Administration; having won a seat in the National Parliament, during the 2010 Federal Elections. Nisbett However has never won the St. James seat in the local island elections, despite many attempts against his cousin, Jean Harris, in at least three previous elections. In the Federal Election the constituency is comprised of both St. James and St. Thomas, which has always supported NRP, but for the local poll, they are separated.

In St. Thomas, Constituency#5, a total of 944 persons were registered but only 721 turned out, with 223 staying away. Parry had a comfortable victory with a margin of 362, defeating Scarborough 535 to 173.

From a total of 1,942 registered voters in Constituency # 4, Jeffers secured 833 votes, compared to Nisbett’s 796; winning by a margin of 37 votes. Some 309 persons did not vote.

In Constituency#3, St. George, Vance Amory, defeated Patricia Hanley, 753 to 246; a margin of 507 votes…the largest in the election. According to the Electoral Office, 1,281 persons were registered to vote in this district, but only 1,001 participated; 280 were no shows.

The fight in Constituency #2 between Daniel and Brantley played out exactly as all pundits predicted; as a very close contest. It was the last seat to be determined with the results only been known at exactly 4:00am, Tuesday 12th July.

For this constituency, which by far was the largest, there were 3,261 people registered to vote, but only 2,702 took advantage to cast their ballot. Therefore some 559 people did not bother to make an appearance.

Brantley in the end secured 1,344 votes compared to Daniel’s 1,358; a margin of 14 votes.

In Constituency#1, Robelto Hector won by the large margin of 203 votes; with final count giving him 822 and Perkins 619. Though 1,830 people were registered to vote here, only 1,445 did so; therefore some 385 failed to turn up at the polls.

It is expected that the new administration will be sworn in, some time on Tuesday (12th July), which has been declared a public holiday in Nevis. However, CCM leader Vance Amory has indicated that his party will not concede the election and will challenge the results due to many irregularities.

The CCM previously governed the island from 1992 to 2006. NRP on the other hand previously held the reins of power from 1980-1992, before getting another chance in 2006.



Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!