OECS Assembly Inauguration Set for August

This has been disclosed by St. Kitts and Nevis’ Commissioner to the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States, Mrs. Astona Browne, who disclosed that a new date has been set for the inauguration of the Assembly.

Browne said OECS leaders at the 55th Meeting of the Authority in St. Vincent and the Grenadines last week, agreed that the new date for the inauguration of the all-important institution will be Friday, 10th August 2012 in St John’s Antigua and Barbuda, which will be the seat of this Organisation. 

She advised that information on the combined membership of Government and Opposition Parliamentarians has already been submitted to the OECS Secretariat in St. Lucia. 

St. Kitts and Nevis’ Prime Minister, Dr. Denzil Douglas will lead the government delegation. The other members are Dr. Timothy Harris and Marcella Liburd. 

The two-man Opposition Team comprises Leader of the Opposition, Mark Brantley of the CCM- (Nevis), and Mr. Eugene Hamilton from the People’s Action Movement. 

The inaugural session of the Regional Assembly was originally scheduled for 15th June.

The revised Treaty of Basseterre of 2010, which governs the OECS move towards an Economic Union, outlines provisions for the establishment of the OECS Assembly as one of the five principles of the sub-regional grouping.

Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!