Permanent Secretary for National Security Still to be Named

No indication has also been given on who is to be given the nod to head the Anti-Crime Unit in the Office of the Prime Minister, which was announced on Thursday 31st August, when Dr. Denzil Douglas introduced changes that dismantled the Ministry of National Security which previously was led by Deputy Prime Minister Sam Condor, with Astona Browne as his Permanent Secretary.

This new Unit is expected to manage the policy affairs of the police and defence force.

While presenting details in the latest Cabinet Briefing, Minister of Information, Mr. Nigel Carty did however, update the public on changes in the Ministry of Education, which he leads as minister. He also provided updates on changes at various government owned primary schools.

The Minister of Information said, following discussion on the re-organisation of certain departments of government, Mrs Ionie Liburd-Willett, former Head of the Division of Teacher Education at the Clarence Fitzroy Bryant College (CFBC) has been installed as the new Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Education.

Mrs. Ionie Liburd-Willett succeeds Mr. Osmond Petty who held the equivalent position for 10 years and who has had a 41 year career in the field of Education.

“Mr. Petty previously had served as Education Planner, Acting Chief Education Officer, Teachers’ College Tutor and High School teacher, among other important positions in his long and illustrious career,” said Mr. Carty.

He said that the Cabinet of Ministers has also discussed impending changes in permanent secretaries and other senior positions in some government departments but these matters will be concluded upon further discussion as is customary in these important high-level executive decisions.

At the Deane-Glasford Primary School in St. Peters, Ms Avonelle Martin has been designated Head Teacher, replacing Mrs Elsie Patrick-Leader, who has retired.

At the Estridge Primary School in Mansion, Mrs. Keisha Dolphin has been designated Head, replacing, Mrs Iona Phillips who has retired, while Mrs. Jean Nisbett-Boddie takes up headship at the Irishtown Primary School.

Mr. Anthony Wiltshire, former Head Teacher of the Dr. William Connor Primary School is the new head at the Bronte-Welsh Primary School in Boyds Village. He replaces Mrs. Daun Hazel who has also retired.

Ms Valencia Syder assumes headship at the Dr. William Connor Primary School.

Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!