Sarwan Injected Back Into West Indies Squad


According to reports, the 30-year-old right-hander, a veteran of 83 Tests and 156 One-Day Internationals (ODIs), will be joined by wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin who was also snubbed for the recent Asian trip.

Sarwan, however, a shocking omission earlier this year, now seems poised to find his way back into the West Indies fold.

The West Indies Cricket Board had cited the player’s lingering fitness issues as the reason for not offering him a central contract, and this was quickly followed by his dumping from the Test and ODI tour of Sri Lanka.

He last played for West Indies back in May in the second ODI against South Africa, during their tour of the Caribbean.

In his only serious cricket match since then, he managed just 64 runs from three innings in the WICB One-Day Championship in Jamaica, with his top score of 63 coming in one innings against the Leeward Islands.

Ramdin, meanwhile, played for West Indies ‘A’ team against the Pakistan ‘A’ team in November with precious little success and he got a highest score of an unbeaten 43 in tallying 60 runs during the regional one-day tournament.

Carlton Baugh, who replaced him on the Sri Lanka tour, has been included in the 30-man squad along with Devon Thomas, who was his assistant then.

Jamaican batsman Brendan Nash is the only player with a retainer contract who has not been included in the squad.

The full 15-man squad will be chosen on 19th January 2011 for the February to April tournament in Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka.

West Indies will campaign in Group B alongside the Netherlands, Ireland, South Africa, India, England and Bangladesh.

The current 30 member squad includes: Lionel Baker, Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh Jr, Sulieman Benn, Dave Bernard Jr, Tino Best, Devendra Bishoo, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Jonathan Carter, Shiv Chanderpaul, Kirk Edwards, Chris Gayle, Ryan Hinds, Jason Holder, Anthony Martin, Nikita Miller, Nelon Pascal, Kieron Pollard, Kieran Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith, Gavin Tonge and Devon Thomas.

Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!