Sir Byron Assumes CCJ Presidency

Sir Dennis replaced the former CCJ head, Justice de la Bastide, who went into retirement, paving the way for Sir Dennis to become the second individual to assume the office of CCJ President.

Justice de la Bastide also attended the swearing-in ceremony and delivered his final address.

The ceremony saw Heads of State and other officials attending the inauguration. These included Sir Cuthbert Sebastian, Governor-General of St. Kitts and Nevis, representatives from the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda and the United Nations and Prime Minister Dr. Denzil Douglas, who is also the CARICOM Chairman.

The Caribbean Court of Justice has been operational for the past six years, officially opening its doors in April of 2005.

At present it serves as the final court of appeal for Barbados, Guyana and Belize.

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!