SKTU announces 2012-2013 Scholarship Winners

The scholarships are valued at EC$500.00 and were awarded to four students promoted to public secondary schools for the new school year beginning September 2012.

 Suyre Browne –       Saddlers Secondary School

  • Ta-Jaroh Stapleton –           Washington Archibald High
  • Gariel Bowry –                   Charles E. Mills Secondary
  • Lomar Yearwood –    Cayon High School


Applicants were required to state their involvement in extracurricular activities; exhibit leadership ability and excellence of character.  Factors such as scholastic achievement, financial need, leadership qualities, and community involvement were considered during the selection process.  The scholarship recipients were selected by a Scholarship Board of the Teachers’ Union under the chairmanship of Ms Vaple Burt. 

The President of the St Kitts Teachers’ Union, Mr. Ron Dublin-Collins, presented the Scholarship Awards to the four successful students in a brief ceremony on Monday 20th August 2012 at the Chamber of Industry and Commerce Building.  sktuscol

The union prides itself in this program as it aims to bring some financial relief to teachers of children entering secondary institutions and also gives the executive body another opportunity to promote exemplary and well rounded student lifestyles as well as encourage all students to work tediously at achieving their fullest potential.  The next event on the Teachers’ Union Agenda is its Annual Teachers’ Month celebrations, which will be held over the period September 30th – October 31st, 2012, under the theme: “Take a Stand for Teachers!” 

Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!