Small Axe Band, New Road March Champs…Proving they have the hardware

While many thought that this was the year for the young and energetic Kollision Band, it was the veteran musicians and the band, the Small Axe, who was named Road March Champions for 2013/2014, with, “We Got De Hardware”.


Their victory was massive, with 57 points, leaving the Grand Masters to trail behind in second position with 44 points, for their song, “Who Send Dem”. In third spot came Nu Vybes Band with 21 points for “Hook”.


Shockingly for many fans of Kollision Band, they managed only the fourth spot with a disappointing 19 points, for one of the season’s very popular tunes, “Wuk up Session”, performed by Bagnal, who a few weeks ago placed First Runner-up in the Power Soca Monarch Competition.


Unfortunately not many bands are learning the art of how to win Road March. Though the Small Axe may not have been the most popular band with the biggest followers, they, like the Grand Masters, understand what exactly is needed to win. And it’s very simple. Score the highest points by making your rounds to the judging points on J’ouvert and Carnival Day, with the greatest urgency, rather than focusing on pulling the biggest crowds for the “bragging rights” that give you no points and certainly not the prize money.


This brings to 8, the number of Road March titles for Small Axe, who first captured the title 25 years ago in 1988, with a song called, “The Big League”. This new victory makes it a Two-Peat or Back to Back for Small Axe, who also won in 2012, with their very popular tune, “DCH, Drop Cover Hold On”. The last time, before 2012 and now 2013, when they won the Road March was in 2007, with “Boom Bam Bam”.


The Small Axe Band, along with Ellie Matt & the GI’s Brass, remain the only band to be on record to have won three consecutive titles, when they accomplished this in 1988, 1989 and 1990. They also won titles in 2000, 2003, 2006, and 2007. All eyes will therefore be focuesd on the group for this year, 2014, to see if they could again pull off the Three-Peat.


The following is the full slate of carnival winners, as provided by the National Carnival Committee:


  • ROAD MARCH WINNER FOR SUGAR MAS 42 – WE GOT DE HARDWARE by Small Axe Band ($10.000) 57 points
  • 1st runner up – Who Send Dem by Grand Masters (44 points)
  • 2nd runner up – Hook by Nu Vybes (21 points)
  • 3rd runner up – Wuk Up Session by Kollision (19 points)



  • TROUPE OF THE YEAR – COLOUR ME HAPPY By Fhunn Vybz (361 points) $25,000
  • 1st runner up – Nature’s Fury by Banker Mas Camp (353 points) $18000
  • 2nd runner up – Tribe by Solid SKB (338 points) $15000
  • 3rd runner up – Celebration Of Festivals by Phunnmakers (306 points) $11,000
  • Largest troupe –Colour Me Happy by Fhunn Vybz ($2500)
  • Most colourful – Colour Me Happy by Fhunn Buvz ($2500)
  • King Of The Bands – Colour Me Happy: Rainbow Fantasy – Kajali Hanley-Gumbs
  • Queen Of The Bands – Nature’s Fury: Tsuanmi – Jonelle Rawlins


  • Best Individual Ole Mas player (Jouvert) – Stacey Hobson ($1500)
  • 1st runner up: Xtreme Jouvert (271 points)
  • 2nd runner up : Mas Jumbies & Small Axe/Shiggidy Shack – Buccaneers vs Vikings, (266 points) 




Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!