Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/customer/www/ on line 309

Squad announced for CPL SKN-based ‘Patriots’

Hard hitting right-handed Pakistani all-rounder Shahid Afridi has been the top attraction for the selectors at the draft, with the SKN franchise buying the World Cup bound player for the top level price of US$150,000.

The team has retained the services of captain and West Indies middle order batsman Marlon Samuels, who has been a main stay in the franchise, which has been relocated from Antigua to neighbouring St. Kitts and Nevis, after the franchise was purchased by an Indian businessman.

Also making the SKN lineup is classy New Zealand opener Martin Guptill, who for the past two seasons played with the Guyana Amazon Warriors. He was released ahead of the 2015 season.

He was snapped up in round 6 for US$50,000; also joining him would be Pakistani unorthodox pace bowler Sohail Tanveer, who was snapped up in round 3 for US$80,000.

Meanwhile, the biggest representation for the franchise that will call SKN its home was the selection of young Tonito Willett from Nevis and Jacques Taylor from St. Kitts.

Team owner Uday Nayak thanked the government of St. Kitts and Nevis for its support and that of the business community in bringing the CPL matches and the franchise to the Federation.

While disclosing the team’s name, as the Patriots, he told Sportsmax that he was happy with the composition of the squad selected.

However, he expressed disappointment at not having drafted the skills of the veteran West Indies middle order batsman, Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

The 2015 Caribbean Premier League season bowls off in June.

Below is a list of the entire squad for the St Kitts and Nevis Patriots.

1.    Shahid Afridi

2.    Marlon Samuels

3.    Sohail Tanveer

4.    Martin Guptill

5.    Sheldon Cotterell

6.    Carlos Braithwaite

7.    Evin Lewis

8.    Devon Thomas

9.    Raymon Reifer

10.Tabraiz Shamsi

11.Orlando Peters

12.Tonito Willett

13.Nicholas Pooran

14.Jacques Taylor

15.Justin Athanaze


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!