Warner re-elected as UNC Chairman

Despite a record low voter turnout, party officials confirm that Warner recorded a land slide victory over Mahabir.

Official results are expected to be released on Monday but Trinidad and Tobago media reports indicate that the Nationalist slate led by Dr.Roodal Moonilal defeated its opponents including Generation Next led by former Prime Minister Basdeo Panday and UNC solidiers led by Sunil Ramjitsingh.

Preliminary results also show the Moonilal team leading in at least seven divisions. But thousands of voters stayed away from the polls. Out of the approximately 81,000 registered voters listed to vote in the elections only 15,000 came out to vote.

Chairman of the elections committee Kemchand Ramdath told the Sunday Guardian that around 20 per cent of the registered voters exercised their franchise. 63 candidates vied for 16 positions on the party’s national executive.

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar expressed satisfaction with Saturday’s proceedings. She praised the various teams for conducting their campaigns with dignity. She dismissed concerns about the low voter turnout, pointing out that it was nothing out of the ordinary. Persad-Bissessar noted that she was anxious to work with the new executive.




Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!