West Indies bat, Harris plays ahead of Pattinson

Australia’s selectors chose Ryan Harris to complement Peter Siddle and Ben Hilfenhaus, which meant James Pattinson was squeezed out of the starting line-up. The omission of Pattinson seemed unthinkable after his success in his first four Tests, which brought two Man-of-the-Match awards, but his lack of match bowling and the form of Harris in the tour match encouraged the selectors to make the move.

As expected, Matthew Wade was named as Australia’s 428th Test cricketer and will become the fifth man to take the gloves in a Test for Australia since the retirement of Ian Healy. Shane Watson was listed to come in at No.3 in his return to Test cricket, with Ed Cowan and David Warner set to resume their opening partnership.

West Indies 1 Adrian Barath, 2 Kraigg Brathwaite, 3 Kirk Edwards, 4 Darren Bravo, 5 Shivnarine Chanderpaul, 6 Narsingh Deonarine, 7 Carlton Baugh (wk), 8 Darren Sammy (capt), 9 Fidel Edwards, 10 Kemar Roach, 11 Devendra Bishoo.

Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Ed Cowan, 3 Shane Watson, 4 Ricky Ponting, 5 Michael Clarke (capt), 6 Michael Hussey, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 Ryan Harris, 9 Peter Siddle, 10 Ben Hilfenhaus, 11 Nathan Lyon.


Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!