West Indies Ready for ICC World Cup 2011 says Captain

According to skipper Darren Sammy, the aim is to get into a “winning mindset” and use the matches as preparation for the International Cricket Council’s Cricket World Cup.

“For us the World Cup starts now! This series is a wonderful opportunity for us as players and for us as a team to get used to the conditions on the sub-continent. We have a good squad, with a good blend of youth and experience. We expect the three matches will be very competitive and will form the ideal build-up as we look ahead to the Cricket World Cup. We hope to have a good time of it here in Sri Lanka before we move over to India for the World Cup” Sammy said.

The right-handed all-rounder, who was appointed captain last October, was speaking at the official launch of the ERI One-Day Series, which was also attended by senior officials of Sri Lanka Cricket, Government officials as well as members of the West Indies and Sri Lanka team management.

All three matches in the upcoming series will be played at the historic Sinhalese Sports Club in Colombo. The first match is to be played on Monday, January 31 followed by the other matches on Thursday, 3rd February and Sunday, 6th February. All three matches will be day games.

Sammy added, “Whatever the conditions we want to go out there and play! We want to get in as much quality cricket as we can. We are all ready to play cricket, that is what we are here for and that is what we want to do.”

The series will be played in aid of the flood victims who lost their homes, belongings and loved ones during the recent floods in the island nation. Sri Lanka Cricket has indicated that proceeds of all ticket sales will go to the flood victims.

The West Indies played a 0-0 result in the three-match Test Series last December. The One-Day Series was to be played in December but was rescheduled due to bad weather. For the World Cup the Windies have been drawn in Group B alongside South Africa, Netherlands, India, Bangladesh, England and Ireland in the 14-team event.

Full squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Shiv Chanderpaul, Chris Gayle, Nikita Miller, Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith.

Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!