Windies Youth drawn with India for next World Cup

The groups for the elite youth tournament were finalised yesterday with ICC affiliates Scotland, Nepal, Ireland, Afghanistan, Papua New Guinea and Namibia joining the 10 full members across four groups.

West Indies, who reached the semi-finals at the last event in New Zealand, will also clash with Zimbabwe and PNG.

India, who won the 2000 and 2008 tournaments, are expected to be handful for the Caribbean side who were finalists in the 2004 edition.

“The ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup is a very important tournament for us and I want to congratulate those six teams who have qualified to take part in Queensland next year,” ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat said.

“This tournament has proved to be an important stepping stone for elite young cricketers aspiring to play international cricket. It’s an opportunity for them to develop and test their skills in a high-pressure situation against the world’s best at this level.

“We also use it as an opportunity to educate them on several important issues like anti-corruption, antidoping and social responsibility expected of international cricketers while also exposing them to the ICC Code of Conduct and media attention.” Meanwhile, title-holders Australia will lead Group A which also includes England, Nepal and Ireland while Group B comprises last year’s losing finalists and two-time champions Pakistan along with New Zealand, Scotland and Afghanistan. Group D will boast the likes of Sri Lanka, South Africa, Bangladesh and Namibia. The tournament starts in Queensland next august.


Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!