Years of Service for Present & Former Parliamentarians

Parliamentary Representative for St. Christopher 3 (West Basseterre), the Hon. Sam Condor; Parliamentary Representative for St. Christopher 6 (Newton Ground to Harris’), the Rt. Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas; and Parliamentary Representative for Nevis 9 (Gingerland), the Hon. Vance Amory, won their seats in the March 21, 1989 Federal General Election.Hon._J._N._France

Since then, the six-term lawmakers have been re-elected in 1993, 1995, 2000, 2004 and 2010.

During the past 23 years, Mr. Condor, presently the Deputy Prime Minister and Dr. Douglas, presently Prime Minister and Political Leader of the governing St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party, have served 6 years on the opposition benches and 17 years on the government benches.

Mr. Amory, Political Leader of the Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM), has served all 23 years on the opposition benches in the Federal Parliament.

Sir-Fred-Phillips-Bradshaw-Southwell-Walwyn_copyNational Hero, The Right Excellent Sir Joseph N. France has the record of 8 terms, having served undefeated for 43 years from 1946 to 1989.

Serving seven terms was First National Hero, The Right Excellent Sir Robert L. Bradshaw (Labour).

Mr. Bradshaw did not contest the 1961 elections as he resigned in 1958 to successfully contest the 1958 West Indies Federation Elections. Mr, Bradshaw was re-elected to the local legislature in 1962 after the demise of the West Indies Federation where he served as Minister of Finance.

Serving six terms was Sir C. A. Paul Southwell (Labour).

Current five-term parliamentarians are the Hon. Dr. Earl Asim Martin and Dr. the Hon. Timothy Harris of the governing St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party.

The past five-term Parliamentarian is the Right Hon. Sir Kennedy Simmonds (PAM).Vance-Amory_copy_copy

Past four-terms parliamentarians are Hon. R. J. Gordon (Independent) ; Hon. Simeon Daniel (NRP); Hon. Ivor Stevens (NRP) Hon. Sidney Morris (PAM) and Hon. Hugh Heyliger (PAM).

The lone parliamentarian presently serving three terms is the Hon. Patrice Nisbett, Attorney General (NRP).

Past three-term lawmakers are Hon. Sir Maurice Davis; (Hon. W.F Glasford (Labour); Hon. Eugene Walwyn (United National Movement (UNM); Hon. Fitzroy C. Bryant (Labour); His Excellency Sir Lee L. Moore (Labour); His Excellency Mr. E. St. John Payne (Labour); Hon. Michael Powell (PAM); Hon. Constance Mitcham (PAM); Hon. Joseph Parry (NRP); Hon. Malcolm Guishard (CCM); Hon. Dwyer Astaphan (Labour); Hon. Rupert Herbert (Labour) and Hon. Cedric Liburd (Labour).

Current two-term parliamentarians are Hon. Shawn Richards (PAM) and Hon. Mark Brantley (CCM).

Past two-term parliamentarians are Hon. Thomas Manchester (Workers’League/Labour); Hon. Edgar Challenger (Workers League/Labour); Hon. J. Matthew Sebastian (Workers League (Labour); Hon. Icen Wharton (Labour); Hon. E. A. Kelley (Labour); Hon. Fred Parris (PAM) and Hon. C. E. Mills (Labour); Hon. Roy Jones (PAM).

Present one-term lawmakers are Hon. Marcella Liburd (Labour), Hon. Glenn Phillip (Labour) and Hon. Eugene Hamilton (PAM).

Past one-term parliamentarians are Sir Clement Malone; Hon. Hubert B. Henville; Hon. James Brookes (UNM); Hon. F. Henville; Hon. Wilmoth Nichols (Independent); Hon. S. James; Hon. J.L. Harney; Hon. James Liburd (Worker’s League); Hon. Milton Allen ((Labour); Hon. Ivan De Grasse (Labour/Independent); Hon. Uhral Swanston (NRP) and Hon. Jacinth Henry-Martin (Labour).


Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!