Youth Parliamentarians debate draft Youth Policy

According to Ms. Jihan Williams, Co-ordinator and former Youth Parliamentarian, the Policy is essentially an operational framework with a set of realistic guidelines, from which action plans and services can be developed, to facilitate meaningful involvement of youth in national development efforts, to react to their various needs.

Williams who is a lawyer in the Ministry of Justice and Legal Affairs and is also the Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly of St. Kitts & Nevis.

She said a resolution endorsing the theme and activities for the 28th Independence Anniversary was also debated when the youth parliamentarians convened in the National Assembly Chambers.Speaker-Mr.-Kennedy-Pemberton-and-Clerk-Ms.-Shauntel-Liburd

She revealed that the session which was carried live on ZIZ Television, also commemorated the tenth anniversary of the official launch of the St. Kitts National Youth Parliament Association (SKNYPA).

Members of the Bronze winning relay team for St. Kitts & Nevis was also publically recognised during the sitting, as three members were expected to be present.

A message from the Governor General, Sir Cuthbert Sebastian was read during the meeting.

The-OppositionSKNYPA was founded by current Director of Youth Mr. Geoffrey Hanley and the late Desmond Ward in 1999.  It was officially launched on 13th September, 2001 at Government House. However Mr. Ward died unexpectedly on the same day that SKNYPA was launched. The debaters and other participants included past and present members of SKNYPA – all under the age of 30.

The Government Benches included- Ms. Patrice Harris (Prime Minister),  Ms. Leanne Knight (Deputy Prime Minister), Mr. Kazrano Gumbs, Mr. Otis Jeffers, Ms. Desi Brown, Ms. Donalene Roberts, Ms. Shanequa Hazel, Ms. Nezrene Roberts, Ms.  Azuree Liburd and Mr.  Jabez Harris.

The Opposition Benches involved- Ms. Isalean Phillip (Leader of the Opposition), Mr. Haniff Charles, Mr. Patrick Walters, Ms. Merv Ann Thompson,  Mr. Crios Freeman, Mr. Dennis McCall, Ms. Elsie Harry, Ms. Valishah Lindsay and Mr. JeNise Carty.

The Speaker was Kennedy Pemberton and the Clerk, Shauntel Liburd.


Leave a Reply

Reset password

Enter your email address and we will send you a link to change your password.

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

Sign up with email

Get started with your account

to save your favourite homes and more

By clicking the «SIGN UP» button you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
Powered by Estatik
error: Content is protected !!